Strava is a mobile technology that offers GPS data to track fitness exercises like running and cycling. The app transforms any device into a high-tech running and cycling computer. Strava is compatible with GPS watches, head units, heart rate monitors, and a variety of other devices.
Strava is also social networking for fitness lovers and professional athletes. You can share your explorations and adventures with other platform users by using photos and captions. Joining one of the many Strava clubs or communities allows you to organize activities and events.
Strava features apps for both Android and iOS devices, so you don’t have to worry about which one you have. The app is free to use, but there is an option to upgrade to a premium version. You will gain access to exclusive functionalities as well as premium customer support if you upgrade to a paid subscription.
Strava can keep track of your preferred performance metrics and then go deep into your data to gain insights into your habits. Strava is an excellent social media and fitness tracking app designed specifically for runners and cyclists. If you no longer wish to use Strava for whatever reason, you may wish to delete your account. In this article, we’ll walk you through the steps to delete your Strava account.
- 1 How to Delete Strava Account
- 2 What Happen When I delete My Strava Account?
- 3 Why You Should Consider Deleting Your Strava Account
- 4 How to Unsubscribe Strava Premium Packages
- 5 How to Unsubscribe your Strava subscription on iOS devices
- 6 How to delete your credit card information from your Strava account?
How to Delete Strava Account
Deleting a Strava account is irreversible and cannot be undone. Since we are clear on that now, let us go ahead and see how we can delete the Strava account. Follow the steps listed here diligently:
- First to do is to log on to your account on Strava.com.
- Now, hover your mouse over your profile in the upper right corner and select Settings.
- Select “my account” on the drop-down and click on it.
- Scroll down to the Download or Delete Your Account section and click the Get Started button.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and check the box that says “I downloaded or don’t want to download my data.”
From the drop-down menu, select “Request Account Deletion.” Strava will now send you an email with a confirmation link.
- Open the confirmation email and select the option to Delete Your Account
- From the drop-down menu, select “Request Account Deletion.”
- Strava will now send you an email with a confirmation link.
- Open the confirmation email and select the option to Delete Your Account.
- To confirm, click Delete your Account
What Happen When I delete My Strava Account?
- All of your data that Strava has kept over time will be deleted permanently.
- Clubs that you create will remain unaltered and unchanged.
- Post created with the deleted account will be removed on Strava club.
- Any public Segments and Routes you create will be saved on Strava. If you want to delete a public Segment or Route, you must do so before you close your account.
Why You Should Consider Deleting Your Strava Account
Strava tracks physical activities using location data, which raises numerous security risks. It can even be dangerous if it contains sensitive information, such as GPS coordinates. As a result, a slew of alarming events and circumstances have arisen. Let’s look at some of the reasons why you might want to delete your Strava account or at the very least reconsider your Strava decision.
There have been several issues in the past that may prompt you to consider deleting your Strava account permanently. most of these issues have something to do with your data being used for something grander than what you signed up for
Strava released a global heatmap of activities in November 2017 that visualized two years of training data from Strava’s global network of athletes. Cool right? the problem is that this data contains a lot of military base locations. One of the bases even has a nuclear weapon!
You can imagine the magnitude of security risk this poised for our Arm forces with this information in the wrong hands. These can be said of you too.
Although this was not the company’s intention, they were w heavily criticized for disclosing such sensitive information to the public. As a result of this incident, privacy concerns about other similar services that track location data have been raised again. Users can now choose whether or not their data is aggregated on the global heatmap.
Strava turned its Flyby feature off by resetting it in October 2020 for privacy reasons. This feature allowed users to see other users’ paths, which raised concerns that it could be used to track other users’ location history. Users must now manually opt in to enable the feature if they want to use it.
I hope that these two facts, in addition to the many other security concerns that exist, have shed some light on some of the Strava controversies. You can permanently delete your account and leave the platform if you value your online privacy and don’t want anyone, including the company, to have access to your sensitive location data.
How to Unsubscribe Strava Premium Packages
Please keep in mind that canceling your membership before its renewal date does not entitle you to a refund; rather, it prevents the subscription from renewing automatically each month. However, you can keep using your canceled subscription plan until it expires.
Follow the instructions below based on the device you’re using to cancel or unsubscribe from your auto-renewing premium membership plan.
How to Unsubscribe your Strava subscription through the website
If you paid for your premium membership plan with a debit card, credit card, or gift card on Strava’s website, follow the steps below in your preferred web browser:
- Go to strava.com and sign in with your email address and password.
- Click the Settings icon in the top right corner of the window, which is just underneath your profile picture.
- On the left side of the screen, click My Account.
- Select the Downgrade to Free Plan option.
- In the confirmation prompt, confirm that you want to downgrade.
How to Unsubscribe your Strava subscription on iOS devices
- Go to the Settings menu on your device and select iTunes and App Store.
- Next, tap View Apple ID and then your Apple ID.
- Enter your password now.
- Scroll down to Subscriptions and press the Manage button.
- Choose Strava and then click Cancel Subscription.
- Confirm that you want to cancel your Strava membership.
How to Unsubscribe your Strava subscription on Android devices
Follow the steps below on your Android device to cancel your Strava premium membership plan purchased through Google Play:
- On your mobile, open the Google Play app.
- To access the menu, click on your profile icon.
- Select Payments & Subscriptions.
- From the list of options, select Subscriptions.
- Find Strava in the list of subscriptions.
- Click Cancel Subscription and confirm your decision.
How to delete your credit card information from your Strava account?
The method for removing your credit card from your Strava account is dependent on how you initially signed up for the premium membership plan.
You can cancel your membership manually by contacting the payment method vendor if you paid for it with a credit card, debit card, or a vendor like Paypal through the website.
If you purchased your subscription through the mobile app, go to the appropriate store. You can cancel your subscription by going to the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store as I have stated in the Android and IOS procedures above.
To remove your payment method from your Strava account, follow the steps below:
- Go to strava.com and sign in with your email address and password.
- In the top right corner of your screen, click on the Settings icon, which is located directly beneath your profile photo.
- On the left column, click My Account.
- In the Billing Information section, click Update.
- Now, select the payment you want to delete and press the Remove button.